The Cluster is structured along Working groups and Action groups.

Working groups are ongoing activities applicable to selected Cluster members. These are smaller groups which include people from relevant projects, and with a few people responsible – “Cluster Curators”.


Current groups (with representatives as applicable) are:

  • Website
  • Data management
  • Stakeholders – Indigenous
  • Stakeholders – Industry
  • Stakeholders – Policy advisors
  • Social media
  • Catalyst Platform
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Remote Sensing


Action groups are science planning groups – projects coming together based on a topic. These are short lived – they will not last more than a few months, and will have clear goals, deliverables, and outcomes. They will have deadlines, and will end after a period.

Participation is not only for coordinators, but for anyone involved in a project. 

The groups are based on activities such as:

  • Horizon Results Booster
  • Policy Advice
  • Webinars
  • Workshops
  • Training
  • Greater engagement and integration for new projects
  • Science planning

Action groups are created on the Catalyst Platform ( - Discussions and independently coordinate their activities there.


The EU Polar Cluster website is hosted by the European Polar Board, and managed by the British Antarctic Survey.